Our history

The Hall was built in 1923. Shortly after the First World War, a group then known as the Christmas Present Working Party, had their final meeting and the Kingston Village Hall committee was formed.
This is an extract of a report from the group: ... The Committee retiring will not be replaced unless we decide on a plan which; has not yet been discussed or thought of unless in short by the Party's special wish, setting aside the tentative recommendation of the Committee to dissolve on the grounds that the work undertaken in 1919, of helping a Village Hall to be built, now naturally passes into the hands of a Committee for the management of the Hall...

Download the full report How It All Started in the 1920's

The Extension

In 1984 John Clark (then the chairman of the Village Hall committee), put forward a proposal to both extend and update the hall. It wasn't long before this proposal became reality.

1 / 19
The rich history of KSM Village Hall
2 / 19
The rich history of KSM Village Hall
3 / 19
The rich history of KSM Village Hall
4 / 19
The rich history of KSM Village Hall
5 / 19
The rich history of KSM Village Hall
6 / 19
The rich history of KSM Village Hall
7 / 18
The rich history of KSM Village Hall
8 / 18
The rich history of KSM Village Hall
9 / 18
The rich history of KSM Village Hall
10 / 18
The rich history of KSM Village Hall
11 / 18
The rich history of KSM Village Hall
12 / 18
The rich history of KSM Village Hall
13 / 18
The rich history of KSM Village Hall
14 / 18
The rich history of KSM Village Hall
15 / 18
The rich history of KSM Village Hall
16 / 18
The rich history of KSM Village Hall
17 / 18
The rich history of KSM Village Hall
18 / 18
The rich history of KSM Village Hall

Extension building
Extension building
Extension building
Extension building
Extension building
Extension building
Extension building
Extension building
Extension building
Extension building
Extension building
Extension building
Extension building
Extension building
Extension building
Extension building
Extension building
Extension building

A brief history of recent improvements

Thanks to another Lottery grant we were able to replace the windows in August 2012.
The old sign above the front door had lasted a long time, but in January 2012 a new one was installed.

In 2010 we purchased new padded chairs following a grant from Viridor and the Parish Council. We also had additional insulation installed in both the roof void and the walls.

In 2009 the floor was sanded and re-varnished, with a new badminton court marked out. This was also when the dragon was made that now hangs on the back wall.

Thanks to funding from a lottery grant a new kitchen was fitted, including new windows. We had a new carpet fitted in the committee room.

We made repairs to the floor in 2008. We took down the noticeboard on the back wall and had the hall re-decorated.

In 2007 we fitted a new copola.